Return to Headlines

Conestoga Public Schools (click here)

Conestoga Public Schools is a consolidated school district, which includes the communities of Beaver Lake, WaConDa Lake, Murray, Nehawka, and Union, Nebraska. The communities and towns are lake-communities and small rural agricultural-related towns. Each of these connected areas have families that work well to make programs thrive at the schools. The Beaver Lake area has the majority of housing locations and families; the lake setting offers much recreational fun for families and it allows them to have a quick drive to work within the metropolitan area of Omaha, Nebraska. Lake WaCondDa families are able to enjoy the amenities of lake comfort and have access to work locations in the Omaha area, Nebraska City area, and Lincoln area. The small towns are very typical in their agricultural-related development. Each town has small main street businesses, churches, and housing neighborhoods. Agricultural farming include the main crops of soybeans and corn, along with livestock programs of beef and pork. Limestone quarries are located in and near the communities.


The schools within the district are located in Murray, Nebraska; the Elementary campus was built in 2006 and houses three-section elementary Preschool through 6th grade students. The Junior-Senior High School campus is located three miles west of Murray, Nebraska; the site is nestled in the midst of corn and bean fields and was built in 1978. Both campuses are well maintained and offer great accommodations for extra-curricular activities. The town of Murray is located 27 miles south on Highway 75 of downtown Omaha, Nebraska.


The 2016 student population count for the district is 698 students. The Elementary School has 393 Pre-Kindergarten students through 6th graders and the Junior-Senior High School has 305 seventh through 12th grade students. In 2016, the district’s free and reduced status was 25.68%, the Special Education population was 18%, and the High-ability Learners population was 6.44%. Our race/ethnicity composition for the district is 91.5% White, 4.5% Hispanic, 1.5 Black, 1% Native American, and .4% Asian. The student daily attendance rate is 95.11% and we have a mobility rate of 9.08%.


Conestoga Public Schools is unique to other schools in Nebraska because we have a four-day school week. Our students attend school on a regular basis on Tuesdays through Fridays, unless it’s a holiday week and we will schedule school on Monday through Thursday. Averaging one Monday a month during the school year, we have teacher professional development. Teachers and administrators work together to improve teacher instructional strategies, conduct data studies, to connect skilled learning in professional learning communities, and to analyze our school improvement plans. The district changed their school week from a five-day week to a four-day week in 2006. Financial difficulties caused the change in the attendance structure; shortening the school week was a savings for transportation, classified staff, such as the cooks, paraprofessionals, and secretaries. Since the change, district finances have improved over the years. Patrons, families, students, and staff continue to enjoy the custom of the four-day week. The district relies on property taxes as their main source of revenue to support the expenditures encumbered. Insignificant State Aid amounts have not substantially supported the district.